LGBT Foudation Heroes

One of my more firmly held beliefs is that the world would be a much happier place if we all said ‘thank you’ a little bit more often. Not in the meaningless way you do when someone opens the door for you or makes you a coffee, but those times when we really mean it – and show we mean it too.

That’s why I wanted to post here about the LGBT Foundation’s Heroes Awards 2015 which give people like you and me the chance too thank the individuals, groups and organisations you feel have helped to make a difference to the community over the past year.

In the next week or so I’ll be writing about the person why I’m nominating for one of the awards and why, but in the meantime, here’s a bit more about the awards.

The awards, supported by Barclays, and now in their fifth year, provide an opportunity to celebrate those that have challenged homophobia, biphobia and transphobia, are role models for the community and have helped make a difference to the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people.

Previous winners have included Sir Ian McKellen, The Co-operative’s Respect Network, Richmond Tea Rooms, Rt. Rev. Nigel McCulloch and Greater Manchester Police.

The Categories

There are a total of nine categories for nominations, in which you can nominate any person, group or organisation that you believe has made a difference to the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people. Nominations are now open and close on the 18th of November 2015. The categories are;

·         Community Champion of the year
·         Business of the year
·         Lesbian, gay, bisexual or trans role model of the year
·         Public Sector Partner of the year
·         Volunteer of the year
·         Community group or organisation of the year
·         LGBT venue of the Year Award
·         The Alan Turing Memorial Award in partnership with Manchester City Council*
·         The Barclays Ally Award*

Following the initial nomination period, the top three nominees for each award category will be put forward for a public vote from Wednesday 2nd December 2015 until Wednesday 13th January 2016.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 28th January 2016 with further details to be released soon so keep an eye out on our website.

To get Nominating now, click the link below!

Click here to nominate

*the recipient of The Alan Turing Memorial Award and The Barclays Ally Award will be decided by a panel.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.